A cake post, finally!

It was mam’s birthday last week and I can’t believe it’s taken me until now to write about the cake I baked.

Since I now have a bundt (round) cake tin I now feel invincible when it comes to cakes – for years I would skip over the bundt cake recipe pages in favour of ‘normal’ cakes but not any more!

I opted for the spiced pound cake from The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook. Easy to prepare, great ingredients (cinnamon, ginger, cloves). My tin may have been a fraction too small however, as it was full to the brim going into the oven. I had to level out the bottom of the cake when it came out but I thoroughly enjoyed eating the crispy leftovers.

The cake itself is rather heavy (to carry and eat) but the taste is great and the texture is just right. I do wonder whether its density was down to my husband buying granulated sugar when I asked for caster…regardless, I didn’t test this theory but I think it would be nice warm, with some custard.

The only thing I will say is that as a birthday cake, it doesn’t look very spectacular which is why I decorated it with an “artistic” drizzle of strawberry icing sugar and tiny gold stars.

I also learnt from my mistake at my dad’s birthday and took a piece of it home with me after presenting it to my mum. Enjoy with a comforting cup of tea or a sparkling glass of something.

2 thoughts on “A cake post, finally!

Leave a Reply

